Start a new topic
Answered

What is the difference between blocked and deplete?

When editing an item in Infoplus, what's the difference between a status of "blocked" or "deplete"?


Best Answer

Kianna,


"Depleted" indicates the item is active, but there is no stock available for ordering.  "Blocked" means the item is now obsolete and will not be replenished in the future.


The deplete status can be really useful, especially around the holidays or other large "fire sale" type situations. Deplete is useful for when there is limited inventory and when it's gone- it's gone! What that means in terms of fulfillment is that Infoplus will fulfill this item on your orders until it no longer can, and then will continue with fulfillment without that item. To make sure you don't miss when the inventory rolls out, so you can alert your customers, see below: 


Here is a great suggestion for using the "deplete" status and how to make it work for you! A good recommendation is to run a report of Shipped Quantity vs Ordered Quantity, and double-check to make sure there aren't any discrepancies besides Outside Vendor orders and orders with depleted SKUs. We also recommend that you look for any items in "deplete" status and if they have zero quantity, move those to "blocked" status. This report could run daily/weekly/however often you would find it useful. But that would ensure that you catch all the items marked as deplete, turn them into blocked, and are still able to sell them out. The only issue would be in situations such as a huge sale, where your inventory could dip very quickly. In those cases, I would recommend keeping a close eye and running the reports more frequently. 

Answer

Kianna,


"Depleted" indicates the item is active, but there is no stock available for ordering.  "Blocked" means the item is now obsolete and will not be replenished in the future.

Login or Signup to post a comment